But, why are you standing still?

I had a pretty restless night of sleep last night, as I often do (Yay insomnia)  when I finally decided to wake up and do my devotionals, of course Christ was there to talk to me about my previous night.  It’s amazing how that works out right?  I am currently making my way through Jesus Calling, I’m about a month behind at the moment.  Along with anything I start, I tend to put things down for days at a time gotta love depression but nevertheless, July 5th has really spoken to me today on August 5th.  “Draw near to me with a thankful heart, aware that your cup is overflowing with blessings.”  I am so blessed!  I forget this all the time.  My family is amazing, my friends are wonderful, my job is sub par but its a job.  I’m back to a few of my old hobbies and honestly, life has never felt so good but yes I am still painfully aware that something is missing.  “You will never be in control of your life circumstances, but you can relax and trust in My control.  Instead of striving for a predictable, safe lifestyle, seek to know Me in greater depth and breadth.  I long to make your life a glorious adventure, but you must stop clinging to old ways”  Once more, “You will never be in control of your life circumstances,”  Do you hear that Amber?  You are not in control, nor is your family, your friends no one is in control but Christ.  It is very easy for me to get caught up in the same thing over and over again because its comfortable, its not scary, I don’t have to think about what numbers to add or what buttons to push however, will I ever really live life without risk?  No, I will not.  So today I vow to take more risks in life.  I vow to write more and attempt to be published again, I vow to work on a resume and possibly leave a job of 8+ years simply because it is full-time, flexible and comfortable.  I recently had some car troubles and depending on how much I will have to put into it, I will plan on taking one to two trips before the end of the year.  Right now, it seems as though I may be heading to NYC for the weekend of September 11th.  I can’t even begin to imagine the emotions that I will feel being there.  I’ve got a brand new, very nice camera that was my graduation gift and I can’t wait to get out there and use it.  I am also going to actively look for a new church!  I have expressed wanting to look, but I have not yet begun.  It’s scary for me, out of my comfort zone but I need more Christian friends to share my ideas and thoughts from scripture with.  If you are a part of my real world, feel free to give me a swift kick in the rear if you do not see me working on these things.  “Be on the lookout for all that I have prepared for you.”  I’m ready!  My life is in your hands!

Leave a Reply

