You had me at hello…or not

I work in retail, customer service to be specific and among the many things that tend to bother me about my current position, is a simple lack of courtesy.  Courtesy from the public that I so graciously serve (ha, but I do with a smile and kindness almost always) and my goodness, I often wonder if manners even exist anymore.  I grew up with my parents teaching me that if I was spoken to, I should speak back especially when it came to family, but don’t let me get started on that. My dad always told me, you don’t have to like someone, but you always greet them and then if you choose to say nothing more, that’s your prerogative.  In any context, never mind just work, if I make an effort to say hello, you should make an effort to say something back.  Hi, hey, howdy, how goes it, all very different then the silence I too often receive.  At work, I’m not asking for your life story, I’m just asking for common decency.  Say hi back!  How hard is that?  “Therefore welcome one another as Christ has welcomed you for the glory of God.” Romans 15:7

If I make the effort to speak to you, be courteous and do the same.  It’s not as though I’m asking you to hang the moon.  What if the tables were turned and you greeted your mom, dad, sister, best friend and did not receive a greeting back?  Would you not rethink that relationship?  Would your mother not say hello?  She’s the one that taught you manners so of course she’d say hello!  My job requires me to be kind to you, but that’s not the only reason that I am friendly.  Everyone has tough days, everyone has their own problems and I feel like sometimes, simply saying hello to someone is just enough to let you know that someone cares.  Can you imagine having to go through this world alone?  See some people do this by isolating themselves without even knowing it.  I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been down in the dumps and a simple hello, be it verbal, a text, an email, made me perk up and realize that there are people out there that care.  No, it doesn’t completely solve all your problems, but a simple hello can make all the difference sometimes.  Not to mention that we are never alone!  If you’re ever feeling under appreciated and unloved, open up your bible and see that there is someone that loves you so much, he sacrificed himself on the cross to pay for our sins that we have committed and have yet to commit.  What other love do you know that is that great?  The sacrifice to save us is just incredible.  I challenge you to say hello to the next person you see, be they a stranger, a cashier, a child, stop and say hello to your fellow man/woman.  The world needs kindness to exist still because without it, well the world would be a lot colder.

One thought on “You had me at hello…or not”

Leave a Reply

