And with a click of a button…

Today, I decided I’ll try something new.  I’m going to go to my photos and randomly click a number and tell you all a story that has something to do with said pic.  Sound good?  Okay, here goes…IMG_0975  Such a beautiful place, Shakespeare’s garden in Central Park in New York City which I just so happened to visit during the weekend of September 11th.  I’ve been to New York once before, a few years ago.  Did not enjoy it very much that first time because the cost and the rental car distracted me from this beautiful city.  The friends I went with had their own issues and I was kind of getting hurt about not seeing what I wanted to see, so the day before my last day I took off on my own in the great and lovely New York City.  First stop, Central Park.  I desperately wanted to sit in the park for a few hours and both write as well as read my book that I had brought along with me.  I woke myself up at about 6 am went down and chowed down on the free breakfast at the hotel and then I was off on my merry way.  One thing about me, I am super shy so I was afraid to ask for directions another thing about me, I am a horrible map follower!  I am so happy that we have GPS now days, it makes not getting lost so much easier!  I grabbed a map and began to walk the 27 blocks to Central Park.  I was told I wouldn’t make it, but I totally did!  I got there and wow I was taken aback by the beauty of that park.  I was inspired the second my feet hit that park.  What an amazing little piece of nature, and heaven among the hustle and bustle of this large and fast paced city.  I grabbed a map and set out to see all the sights that the gentlemen that stopped to ask me to ride on a horse drawn carriage, said I would not be able to see all in a day.  I did not want to ride around that park, I wanted to explore it with my own two feet.  I got there about 7 am and stayed there until about noon walking the whole time except to write and to check an item off my bucket list.  My bucket list is pretty simple, I want to see all fifty states before I die, I want to see a few stellar artists that i enjoy listening to, I now want to skydive for my 30th year and I wanted to have a hot dog in Central Park.  I had the best hot dog in the history of hot dogs in Central Park at the boat house, that over looked a beautiful lake with paddle boats the view was breathtaking.  This particular photo, I navigated my way to this garden.  I thought to myself, meh Shakespeare and a garden probably something I don’t necessarily need to see but boy was I wrong.  The steps that lead up to this beautifully secluded oasis, intrigued me right away.  I felt so at peace, I immediately found a place to sit and began writing away.  I think that I probably wouldn’t want to live in New York, just because I’m happy to call Texas my home, but if I am ever able to do what I love for a living, I could totally see myself coming up to New York and writing.  The power of my words alone in Central Park was something that I never have experienced.  I am so thankful to be able to see what I have seen.  I spent a good 7 years or so in a really awful relationship, I was miserable.  I wasn’t “allowed” to do things for myself, to see the world like I had dreamed so the second I broke free from that possession, the world was my oyster.  I’m living life, the way I feel is right, one step at a time.  I no longer have time for negative people who weigh me down.  I do enough of that to myself.  Life is too short to be miserable, especially when you have a huge support system that want to see you do well.  To anyone out there that’s in a relationship that is controlling or abusive, don’t be in it.  Stick up for yourself and be selfish for once and see that you do not need that person, or their negativity in your life.  When I broke free, a fog was lifted from my sight.  What a waste of my time to chase around a person who wasn’t a part of my life plan.  No one should ever treat you unkindly, you have no reason to put up with that from anyone.  The answer to the question, is no, they will not change no matter how much they try to convince you that they will.  That first time he raises a finger to you, abandon ship, and I mean post haste.  No one deserves to be the victim of abuse and please, even if we are strangers, if you need to talk to someone, know that I am always here for any and all of my tiny little audience and, if I haven’t told you guys lately, I very much appreciate you reading whatever words I might think to write.  Live life, love and cherish the people that you love, and don’t make time for the people that are unkind to you.  Life’s too short to waste it miserable.  I read in my devotional today that Jesus always wants to be with you, always wants to be a part of your life.  I am quick to push people away, especially Christ, but he wants to celebrate our joy when we are celebrating, and he wants to comfort us when we are hurting.  No matter how you feel, you are never alone if Christ is by your side.

Leave a Reply

