There’s something wrong with the world today.

Another mass shooting hits the news, and I sit here in shock yet again.  Why do people think its okay to kill each other?  When did the value of human life cease to exist?  I’m going to be one of those people that blames these shootings on video games, and broadcasted violence in general.  When we see so much violence in everyday settings, it desensitizes us from the  horrifying realness that it actually is.  My abusive ex, spent hours, days even, straight literally playing all day not even stopping for sleep.  These violent shooting games, and movies, and even the news, tells the world hey, it’s alright if you kill people its not like human life matters anyway.  But, the thing is, dying on a video game, or killing someone on a video game is a lot different than killing someone in real life, and in the case of people that don’t see the difference, when they finally do, it could be and usually is too late.  It is my belief that this violence triggers people, not all people but, a certain type of person could be triggered by this.  In the case of the aforementioned asshat, I know for a fact that it triggered him.  There’s so much violence in this world, just look at stories about road rage even.  So I get cut off by someone and if I honk at them I could end up dead?  Are you kidding me?  Now I’m not preaching anything like hey lets ban all violent video games, and I’m not standing on a soap box saying my beliefs are right, but I guarantee you there is some validity in what I believe to be true.  All this broadcasted violence, can trigger a certain person to act a certain way.  Children should grow up with parents that give attention to them, that have interaction with them, not babysat for hours by a video game console.  I know what you’re thinking, this girl is probably some sort of yuppie, probably wants to ban all violence in media, and in turn ban guns.  Well no, I’m a proud gun owner myself, but I know the difference between having one for my own use, and bringing my gun into society and hurting innocent people.  Our world is so full of violence, and I think a lot of it has to deal with the way we as a society just shrug our shoulders to what is going on.  I own a gun, but I own one for my protection only.  I’m a girl, I live alone and I have no desire to ever use my gun on another person but if it comes down to it, I will not hesitate to protect my self.  But thats the thing, I have that on/off switch that tells me yes, it’s okay to protect myself, but no its not okay to hurt dozens of innocent people.  I don’t watch the news, its too much, just horror after horror at this time I don’t know who the shooter/shooters were, I don’t know what their motives were, but I do know that this is not okay.  This world is getting worse and worse, we should learn how to resolve our problems without the loss of each others lives.

Leave a Reply

