Turn the Page

Here we are 8 days into a new year, a fresh start, a new page for some, possibly a chapter for others.  This year has started off well for me.  I haven’t been to the gym as often as I’ve wanted, but tomorrow is another day.  Small goals, seriously, think small.  No soda or fast food thus far in the new year, and I intend to keep it that way.  I am a soda free kid most days but the last month of 2015 I was like all the soda belongs to Amber…okay not really but I still consumed way too much (by way too much I mean maybe like 6 sodas in December) and the fast food thing, was the same way.  It’s hard for me to just cook for myself but I am learning.

The first weekend of the new year, I took off to celebrate my Mamaw’s Birthday.  I know it was hard enough for her without her Mom and Papal, this would be her first Birthday in more than 52/53 years without him.  She cried a lot, but I think it was a bit easier for her with us all around.

New Years day, we went to the cemetery and picked up all of the Christmas trees.  We are pretty blessed to have most of the family at the same cemetery, including my grandparents on my dads side.  After that, we had our traditional meal of cabbage, for money in the new year and black eyed peas, for luck in the new year, and it was just really nice being with everyone.

The next day, we went to Louisiana because we had a free room, we shopped a bit, gambled a bit, spent the night and the next day traveled to Port Arthur, Texas where my Mamaw was born.  She has been talking about going, and showing us where her grandparents lived, and just sharing memories with us.  We found one of her grandparents houses still in tact,  

 
and the other, just the lot was left.   

 She really enjoyed being able to see the house and I’m glad we were able to share that with her.  We had been talking about going for awhile, not only so Mamaw could show us her roots, but also because I love Janis Joplin’s music, and incidently she was from Port Arthur.  We went to the Museum of the Gulf Coast to see her exhibit.  It was definitely worth checking out, and I’m so glad after all these years I finally got to see it!  Her music reminds me of riding in the truck with my dad, before he went blind.  He loved playing Me and Bobby McGee and I absolutely hated it.  Now its a memory I cherish forever and her voice grew on me over the years.  I actually picked up a brick at the museum that was a part of her childhood home.   

 I am super geeked out about that as I am a huge fan.  I emailed the director of the museum today to send me a letter of authenticity, they give you one at purchase but supposedly there is another one that is a bit neater.  I plan to frame both and put the brick in a shadowbox and display it once the house is done being remodeled.

 

It’s time for a change.  I need to get better at my writing, kind of take it a bit more seriously, and also possibly find a better job choice.  I kind of feel like my eyes were opened today, to the dead end I’ve been at for awhile.  It’s time to move on, its actually way past that time.

 

“Oh, yeah I’m scared.  I think, oh, it’s so close, can I make it?  If I fail, I’ll fail in front of the whole world.  If I miss, I’ll never have a second chance on nothing.  But, I gotta risk it.  I never hold back, man.  I’m always on the outer edge of probability.”  -Janis Joplin

Leave a Reply

