97

This weekend was really fun, I took off to Austin to see City and Colour, if you do not know who that is, go listen, I’ll wait…oh and you’re welcome.  It was an awesome show.  Dallas Green has the voice of a slightly tattooed angel.  Minus the fact that my feet were killing me, it couldn’t have been any better, unless I was at the front which lets be real I wasn’t going to wait in line.  This lady yelled at me when I got into our uber and said did you just take my uber?  I was like well I’m on the phone with the driver right now so I’d say no…rude people for the win.

  
Before the concert, this was actually Thursday, ran around Austin because, Austin.  It’s great to have a friend new to Austin, because its an excuse to act like I’m showing them around and its not just for my benefit though I am kind of benefitting because I love the area.  We went to Cedar Park and checked out Joels Coffeshop because I had seen it a few times before, and my coworkers name is Joel and I thought it would be neat to bring him a shirt or something from there.  The coffee was delicious, the service not so great, the gentlemen was kind of short with me but thats quite alright, the coffee made up for it.  Went to Lakeline Mall which, my Papal built back in the day had excellent service at Journeys and ended up with a new pair of work shoes.  So see, mean people beware, there’s someone nice around the corner to make up for bad experiences.  Had to get a pretzel cause, pretzel.  Hit up 6th street later that night, it was fun as usual.  Our uber driver that night told us that one building I always looked at and thought was pretty, was actually designed by a graduate of Rice University, and he constructed it to look like an Owl, the rice mascot in the middle of longhorn territory.  Pretty neat little factoid.

Friday I slept in, but then went to TacoDeli I believe they will be a staple of my Austin visits, afterwards next door is Houndstooth coffee, which I love Houndstooth print so naturally I had to try this at some point and really enjoyed it, so went back Friday had “Ginger in the snow” I believe was the name and it was such a masterpiece, I was scared to drink it what with it being so carefully crafted and so pretty!  It was espresso and half and half and some sort of creme brulee blow torched sugar glaze on top.  Yum!  A piece of ginger to the side and some sprinkled powder sugar on the side thus the “Ginger in the snow” part.  It was intensely delicious and a beautiful cup of wonderfulness.

  
Not mentioned, graffiti park as usual, love that place!  Found a dresser at goodwill, a nice probably handcrafted wood dresser I think Alec will get very good use from it and it matches the couch.  Concert was amazing, I already said that but Dallas Green is one of my bucket list artists and I’m so fortunate I was able to see him.  Did you look him up yet?  “Hello, I’m in Delaware” or “Caseys Song”  both are beautiful.  Again, you’re welcome.

Saturday, I dropped my Ravvy off at the Toyota dealership in Austin for her second oil change.  We dropped it off and then took off to go explore some creeks I had seen on a previous excursion if you will.  I randomly picked the second creek from the road and we found a place to ditch the car.  From the road, it looked like a normal creek bed, but upon further exploration, the creek was a magical water/rock oasis that I couldn’t believe we just stumbled across.  Now I’m not sure my friend was as enthralled as I was but I am a huge natural water, climbing on rocks junkie and I found my fix there.  I was climbing all over rocks, had my feet in ice cold water and I even found a rock in the water that had the numbers 97 etched into it which I found really interesting.  I had to pause and sit still for a bit to take in the atmosphere, mostly the little waterfall and write a bit.  Such a beautiful little spot.  We hadn’t ate breakfast or lunch, and I didn’t want to stop exploring but we had to, so as we walked back to the car, I was texting Mamaw and asking her if we had been there before with Papal and I heard a rustling in the brush.  A normal person wouldn’t have gone exploring but, I did and low and behold it was a red bird.  They say a red bird is a lost relative visiting from Heaven and since we were both talking up a storm about Papal, I don’t doubt it.  What a wonderful day.   

   
    
In a world of so much hate, and ugliness, its great to see nature at its finest like that, off the beaten path a little.  God’s kingdom is so full of beauty if you stop and look around a bit.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

