If you’re not having fun being single…

We just got back from seeing,”How to Be Single” and you know, I really pegged it for being a funny movie and it was, but I left the theater in tears.  Way to play with my emotions there Rebel and Dakota.  The single life can be the pits, you see everyone happy together, and then. theres. just. you. all. alone.  I relish and cherish my aloneness, but at some point I need people, God invented mankind so we could form relationships, not be an island.  I think the single life can easily lead to island life.  There are days, weeks, months where I would rather not be bothered, and be left alone.  I think it’s easy for me to be an island.  But, at what point do you swim to shore and get lonesome?  At what point do you realize that, though you cherish your alone time, life would and could be better with other people around.  What do you do when all you know is the single life?

Just because it looks greener on the other side, doesn’t necessarily mean that is the truth.  I’d rather be devoted on being more Christlike myself, then worrying about someone else accepting me for being the awesomely loner weirdo I am.  That right there is easier said than done.  Sometimes what other people think about me, really seems important, but it isn’t so I don’t know why we as a society just kind of beg to be accepted.

If you’re not having fun being single, it’s time to open your eyes and reassess the situation.  Are you doing everything that you want/should be doing?  Are you focusing on your dreams before they become someone elses?

One thought on “If you’re not having fun being single…”

  1. Thank you for your inspiring honesty. As a fellow Christ-following introvert who was single most of my life, I resonate with the paradoxical tension you mention. It is indeed usually more comfortable to be an island… Until it is not. I love your phrasing of the need to sometimes swim to shore, that God made us to need each other. So very true. Thank you for so courageously and beautifully pouring out your soul and yourself to bless others including our family. I smile now as I hold our little one, comfy and cute in a sweet little onesie from dear Amber…and family. 🙂 Lenten grace and peace to you and those you love on shore.

    Like

Leave a Reply

