Easter Sunday, Social Media, and everything inbetween

First and foremost, Easter Sunday was an incredible day as it often is, had a beautiful service at my Mamaw’s church and was happy to see she has people that care about her as well as a nice little church home.  We had communion and the last couple of times I’ve had communion, it has been such a powerful experience for me, I wouldn’t be able to even put into words, but I think it has to do with a growing spiritual relationship with Christ.  I spent the day with my Mamaw, my Mom had to work and Dad was at home, but overall it was a good day, except when I started browsing the news feed on my facebook.

I’m Christian, I don’t claim to know everything about everything.  I try very hard not to judge people on anything, I mesh well with people of all nationalities, religious backgrounds, sexual preferences, etc…but I really find it offensive when someone bashes Jesus on any day, but specifically on Easter.  I get that some people aren’t believers I get that so much, but some of the things people post about, and some of the memes that are posted with crucifixion pictures and jokes are just terribly offensive to me.  I’m not sure when that started bothering me, but it’s truly enough for me to want to get off social media entirely.  Instead, I’ve been hitting that unfriend button quite frequently today and though that doesn’t help the cause, I’m ridding myself of negative energy.

I get that people don’t have the same beliefs, I understand that we are born with free will, and come to Christ at our own pace, if even at all but I don’t understand how the biggest sacrifice ever made, can be mocked all these years later.  Someone died, all the worlds pain was put on the back of this man, to free us of our sins and yet we mock Him all these years later just like he was mocked on the cross?  It makes you really wonder about society.  I know I’m not perfect, no one is, no one will be except for Christ himself, but I can’t believe how tacky adults can be.  Lately to me all Facebook and other social media forms are nothing but a means to brag about what we have and what we don’t have, where we’re going and where we’ve been, don’t get me wrong I’m guilty of all this too, but lately its just really been weighing on my mind.

So what do I do?  A fast of social media in my life needs to happen I believe.  It’s getting to the point that I dread signing onto things lately.  I’m proposing a shutdown of my facebook, snapchat, instagram for the course of one month.  Possibly keeping instagram going because I am a new photographer and trying to get some sort of following on this blog and or my photos.  I’d still be available via this blog and email, but just wouldn’t be so active on facebook.  I tried this experiment with Tumblr I guess about a year ago, and I kind of sort of never went back.

Posting this, maybe I’m being judgmental, but I don’t make it a point to publicly bash ones beliefs, and I was very offended today by some of the things I saw out there.  How can I be more of a kind, compassionate person, when it comes to social media, with a more positive social presence, than I am being now?  Am I realizing that what I say day to day, can be seen by just about anyone and is it something that might be offending someone else as well?  Something to think about, before I post.

Leave a Reply

