I Stand with Joey!

I have been on a rocky road when it comes to my fitness journey, but I have been on it.  I embarked upon this thing three years ago or so?  I’ve been down 80lbs at my highest, 10 lbs at my lowest but I’ve been on the journey.  When you are a bigger person, at least in my personal experience, its a bit harder to get yourself motivated to work out, to eat right because the demons on the outside, that you as an outsider looking in see, the pounds of flesh that we carry, is nothing compared to what we are carrying inside.  Each one of these excess pounds that I carry for you to see, are 10x the voices in my head telling me that I can’t do this, that I’m worthless, that I’m obese, that no one cares about me, no one will love me even if I lose the weight etc…the voices are relentless and they are destined and designed to try and make me fail.

I love working out, I love eating good, the thing that stops me from going to work out is my head.  I don’t really know how to describe it, but I can easily talk myself out of going to the gym almost nightly.  The hardest part for me is getting there, but once I do get there I can knock out an hour or two easily.  That being said, every day is a constant struggle to make the right choices for my body.  I don’t like to talk about it because it’s a fight I deal with every single day from the moment I wake up.  I have done really well on this journey, and I have fallen flat on my face and had to restart over and over again but the thing that keeps me going is that I am still trying.

What does this have to do with the title of the blog you ask?  Joey is a guy that I follow on instagram.  We’ve only interacted a few times, but I would consider him a friend none the less.  He has lost over 200 lbs in his journey, and he has the confidence to post pictures, today he posted a picture of the excess skin from his weight loss and he was mocked and ridiculed.  What kind of world do we live in where we make fun of and bully someone that lost 200+ lbs?  What an accomplishment!  Every pound is a struggle with me, and mostly the struggle is staying encouraged to keep continuing on the right path.  I follow people like Joey on instagram for motivation and, he and his girlfriend @lilbugkay are just so inspirational and so nice, it is really a great thing to witness so many people bettering themselves when its hard to do it yourself.

As a society, we should be building people up, not bringing them down.  Joey should stand tall in the fact that he is bettering himself everyday, by going out and working toward his goals.  The people that made fun of him, whoever they may have been, had no room to do so!  200 plus pounds is a person!  Joey is one whole person less than who he was when he started, how many people can say the same?  These people that were quick to pass judgement on him, should really have stepped back and seen all the work that he has put in.  The fitfam that decides to go online with their journey and their successes, as well as their downfalls are so brave, they deserve a standing ovation not a bashing.  Joey, I want you to know that we are all in this together buddy, they pick on one of us, and we send out the troops.  I won’t stand for it.  I know how hard it is to put yourself out there just to be slammed for no reason.

Leave a Reply

